file-o file-word file-excel file-powerpoint file-image file-archive file-audio file-movie file-code file-openoffice file-css menu googleplus facebook instagram twitter feed youtube vimeo2 lanyrd flickr picassa deviantart github wordpress blogger tumblr yahoo soundcloud skype linkedin lastfm delicious stumbleupon stackoverflow pinterest foursquare cross arrow-left arrow-down arrow-up arrow-right arrow-left2 arrow-down2 arrow-up2 arrow-right2 arrow-left3 arrow-down3 arrow-up3 arrow-right3 search

You are here

FIA inducts 14 individuals into FIA Futures Hall of Fame

FIA inducts 14 individuals into FIA Futures Hall of Fame

16 March 2017 12:15pm EDT

Today, FIA announced the induction of 14 members into the FIA Futures Hall of Fame. They join 131 other honorees in the Hall of Fame, which was established in 2005 on the occasion of FIA’s 50th anniversary. The 14 new members were honored at an awards ceremony during the 42nd annual International Futures Industry Conference in Boca Raton, Fla.

“Our industry has a long tradition of problem-solving, innovation and collaboration, said Walt Lukken, president and CEO of FIA.  “We established the FIA Futures Hall of Fame to recognize the men and women who have made exceptional contributions to the growth and development of the futures and options business.  This year’s inductees represent advocates, policymakers, and visionaries who have provided the leadership and support necessary to keep growing our industry.  I am honored to present them with this recognition.”

The following individuals were inducted into the Hall of Fame:

Mary Ann Burns

J. Robert Collins (Bob)

Eligio “Kika” de la Garza, II

William R. Eckhardt (Bill)

Thomas J. Hammond (Tom)

Hugo Jenkins

Yoshio Kuno

Rosemary T. McFadden

Ulla Nilsson

Daniel J. Roth

Atsushi Saito

Margery F. Teller

Wallace G. Weisenborn (Wally)

Alan Whiting (posthumously)

Lukken took a moment to pay respects to de la Garza, who passed away on Monday.  “Kika devoted more than 30 years of his life to public service in Congress.  He chaired the House Agriculture Committee for 14 years, making him the second longest serving chair of that committee in its history.  Throughout his tenure, he was an unfailing supporter of agricultural producers and the markets they use to hedge risk.  Our thoughts are with his family and friends.”

The FIA Futures Hall of Fame was established in 2005 to celebrate outstanding members of the futures and options community.  The 14 members inducted today bring the total number to 145 FIA Futures Hall of Fame Members.  





Back to FIA